Down Payment Assistance Program

The City of Roanoke wants to help you obtain your dream of home ownership in the Star City. The City is providing funding for qualified participants on a first come, first served basis until funding is exhausted.

If you are a first time buyer, and you meet the eligible requirements provided in this program, this is a perfect opportunity to stop paying rent and own your own home.

For more details on the lead requirements and to find out more about the program contact one of the participating lenders below or email Brenda Thornton or call 540-853-6879.

What is Covered


These funds are available for up to 50% of the required down payment as determined by lender and applicable closing costs. This program offers a 5-year, forgivable loan from $1,000 to $8,000. The home purchased must be the home buyers primary residence and the buyer must contribute a minimum of $500 or 50% of required down payment as determined by the lender, whichever is greater. The maximum house purchase price for this program is $162,000, effective April 11, 2016.

If the home was built prior to 1978, the home will be required to pass a lead assessment inspection and/or clearance inspection to be funded. This program will cover the cost of one lead assessment and one clearance test only. All lead based paint repairs are the responsibility of the homebuyer or seller.

Participating Lenders:

     
 Kent Blackburn Access National Mortgage kblackburn@accessnational.com  (540) 204-9161
 Jamie Bailey Alcova Mortgage  jamie@alocovamortgage.com (540) 556-0994
 Lance Brenner
Cindy Machen
Hersel Lawson
Angela Gillespie
 Corridor Mortgage Group  LBrenner@Corridor Mortgage Group
CMachen@Corridormtg.com
Hlawson@Corridormtg.com
agillespie@Corridormtg.com
(540) 815-9162
(540) 797-9949
(540) 761-6271
(540) 556-8565
 Trish Morton Blue Eagle Credit Union tricia.morton@blueeaglecreditunion.com (540) 855-3628
 Allison Wolfe Freedom First FCU  awolf@freedom first.com (540) 527-2940
 Valinda Hays Member One Federal Credit Union vhays@memberonefcu.com (540) 982-8811 x9167
 Sarah Camper
 Robin Jewel
Embrace Home Loans

scamper@embracehomeloans.com
rjewell@embracehomeloans.com
(540) 375-3190
(540) 375-3190 x 3708

 ​Angela Newman Valley Tree Mortgage, LLC anewman@valleytreemortgage.com (540) 400-2800
Donna Vaught 
Angie Apgar
Amy Lowman
Cyndi Beach Stultz
Yvette Kahn Ewers
 BNC Bank Mortgage dvaught@bncbankva.com
aapgar@bncbankva.com
alowman@bncbankva.com
cstultz@bncbankva.com
Ykahnwewers@bncbank.com
(540) 759-3711
(540) 283-8015
(540) 283-8083
(540) 769-8557
(540) 769-8556


Participating Real Estate Agents

     
 Berkshire Hathaway Candace Leftwich
Glenda Schaaff
Dena Balzano
(540) 293-1323
(540) 977-4456
(540) 204-3309
 Century 21 Gold Key, Realtors Amanda Miller (540) 345-5685
 Greene Real Estate Center Anastasia Thompson

(540) 397-3332

 Keller Williams Realty Amanda Walker (540) 761-4851
 Long & Foster Valerie Aplhin
Linda Trail
Leslie Williams
(540) 998-4046
(540) 977-1256
(540) 355-7120
 MKB Realtors
Hazel Williams
Kathy Bibb
(540) 989-4555
(540)293-2323
 Poe & Cronk Danielle Poe (540) 855-3657
 Wainwright & Company Pam Washington (540) 819-9860
 Wampler Realty, Inc. Joey Ingram
Kaye Nolen
(540) 797-1759
(540) 798-8047

2016 Maximums

Household Size
Maximum Income
1 $34,550
2 $39,500
3 $44,450
4 $49,350
5 $53,300
6 $57,250
7 $61,200
8 $65,150
Online Resources